And on to the next adventure…

As I watched the first swallows swooping around the barns and house at Woodah Farm, I remember back to last April, when they arrived with me to the DWT reserves base where I would be spending my year. Now they have returned again and it is time for me to say goodbye to the rural idyll of Doddiscombsleigh, and start a new chapter in Bristol, with a job at the Avon Wildlife Trust!

There has been change in the air in the DWT team for a month or so now, with my fellow trainees Simeon and Alice leaving, and for me a time of job applications and interviews whilst trying to make the most of my remaining time in Devon. Still time for a new experience or two – most notably a day involving a boat, chainsaws and a very large tree that has fallen into Bystock reservoir… Not one I will forget in a hurry! I also spent a day working at a wonderful event the Trust’s Terrestrial Conservation Officer organised in one of Exeter’s Valley Parks. It was a day bringing together wildlife ID skills, walks and crafts, with the added bonus of getting people out into one of the big green spaces Exeter has to offer. It was particularly inspiring to see people really getting to know the vast array of wildlife present in a park many of them simply think of as a dog walking area.

IMG_2681

As I prepared to leave Woodah Farm, others had different ideas. A robin has taken up residence on the winch on the back of one of DWT’s tractors, and built a fantastic nest now full of upturned beaks searching for food. In the barn we have been storing a large number of nest boxes, made for the Trust by some of the inmates of Dartmoor Prison. A month or so ago we noticed the birds were checking out one of the boxes, but thought nothing of it. Next thing we knew, a Blue Tit had moved in, built a nest and is now incubating. It just goes to show, wildlife can adapt to live in many nooks and crannies we would dismiss as useless corners – I think we could learn a lesson or two about valuing the spaces we pass through from our feathered friends….

IMG_2665
Spot the Robin!

Outside of work time, I’ve spent the last few weekend soaking up the many wonderful views Devon has to offer, with a trip to the estuary, and a few days up on Dartmoor. Wonderful bird life to be seen, and an ever increasing amount of wildflowers adorning the grasslands and woods. Bluebells and Ramsons in all their glory carpet Scannacliff Copse once again, and the cuckoos have returned to Emsworthy Mire. I ventured out into the Bank Holiday heat for my first swim of the year, near the head of the East Dart at Sandy Hole Pass. A blissful day away from packing and the underlying stress that comes with the excitement of a new start, in one of my favourite swim spots on the moor – what better way to spend a sunny Saturday?

IMG_2694
Beautiful swim spot

As I start my new job in Bristol I bring with me many happy memories, a unquantifiable amount of new skills and experience, and infinite gratitude to the team at DWT for having me along for the year. I wouldn’t be where I am now without the time they have given to share their knowledge with me and the opportunities given to me to grow and develop my capabilities. So, thank you to all those at DWT that I’ve had the pleasure of working with over the last 13 months, I may be moving on but I’m not going far, and will most certainly be keeping in touch!

I will also be drawing this blog to a close – I started it with the intention of following my learnings throughout my year with the reserves team at DWT, to reflect on, share and document my time, and it feels right to leave it as just that. Fear not, I will continue blogging, but it will take a slightly different (and as yet undecided) form.

For now, thanks to anyone who has been reading my musings over the last year, and here’s to new adventures!

IMG_2624.jpg
Wood Anemone

 

One thought on “And on to the next adventure…

  1. Lovely way to wrap up an exiting, diverse, life-enhancing year – onwards and upwards! (well, up the M5 anyway!) Much love Mumma. xx

    >

    Like

Leave a comment